jump to navigation

Performance tuning methodology September 11, 2008

Posted by msrviking in Performance tuning.
trackback

Hello Guys,

I had a request from one of the project teams to help them in DB performance tuning. I was delighted to help and came up with a meeting plan. I had bunch of questions before I could jump for sharing the methodology. Here are the questions I fired back at the team.

  1. Which database technology would we look at, for performance
    tuning? I am assuming SQL Server.

  2. If SQL Server, which version of SQL Server would be looked at
    during performance tuning?

  3. What kind of performance tuning does the team want to do?
    (Queries, Index, Database, Instance, OS or Hardware)

  4. Is the performance tuning, for an application in production or
    application which is being developed?

  5. Is there any information you could provide that would be good
    for understanding of what has been done, what needs to be done?

To my surprise, even though I had mentioned that my thoughts on performance tuning would revolve around SQL Server, I was given a reply back by team saying that tuning would be on Sybase 15. Okkk, now what? I started googling around for some information on how to help in tuning Sybase databases. Well, after little searching and finding interesting articles, I stepped back a little while and thought "What am I doing?". And quickly it struck me, that we are looking only methodology and not at technology based tuning. Wouldn’t methodology be common across any db technology for performance tuning? The only set of differences would be from monitoring, analyzing tools during performance tuning. I have strong belief that if we know the methodology we could get into tuning of different db technology.

What do you guys think about it? Also if you have different set of questions than what I had, do let me know.

Happy reading!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

