jump to navigation

Oracle to SQL Server Replication-Pre-Requisites May 10, 2013

Posted by msrviking in Configuration, Heterogeneous, Integration, Replication.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

In the first post on this topic I had shared my tiny plan or approach on how to get the Oracle to SQL Server replication done. Today I shall talk a bit about on why I listed the steps, and also share the links of forums, blog posts I had used to work on each step.

1. Environment setup

This was the first step where I had to decide what is that I could have running on that box at an OS level, the hardware configuration I would need to run an instance of Oracle and SQL Server. So here are the specs I chose for bringing up this demo-able replication setup quickly.

  • A virtual machine, this is the fastest and best way to have POCs setup for understanding the internals and share it with teams.
  • A virtual machine with enough memory, CPU power and hard disk space. What would be the configuration for this? I knew I wasn’t showing anything on performance when there is data being replicated between systems, but a simple walk-through to understand the pain of having replication done from Oracle to SQL Server.Here are the specs,
    • Memory /RAM > 4GB
    • CPU > Dual core processor
    • Hard Disk space > 150GB
  • The VM with a an appropriate OS. While I was deciding on these specs I thought it doesn’t make sense to configure replication between Oracle and SQL Server running on the same box, and that too on Windows. So there was a little change of course of what should run where. That made me to pick Windows Server 2008 R2 to run SQL Server 2012 with SP1, and Oracle on Linux box. Now the challenge to find a box running with Linux and Oracle on top of it. I got some help because I had one of the boxes with Oracle on Linux, running for another customer so I had to just use it after few requests with the team.

Here is the link that tells you about software and hardware requirement to run SQL Server 2012 SP1 Developer Edition (this edition has Replication Features). We know about this link, nevertheless I thought sharing won’t cost me anything and could help anyone of us.

2. Installation of Oracle

As mentioned earlier I wanted to have the setup with Oracle on Linux and “Oracle edition that supports replication setup”. Just take a note of the last sentence in quotes, by saying that I wanted Oracle Standard /Enterprise Edition to support Oracle Gateway option which is part of these editions, and this option is not available in Oracle Express Edition. Oracle Gateway needs to be installed separately without any license in the same box of Oracle instance or a different box. I didn’t want to get into too many installations for a quick POC hence chose an Oracle Enterprise edition instance which was already up and running on Linux, 64 bits environment. Made my job precise and easy, eh!

All this said I shall still share the links on the Oracle Editions, and the license information /feature availability per Edition.

Oracle Standard Edition (SE), and Enterprise Edition (EE) features availability

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/license.112/e10594/editions.htm#CJACGHEB

Oracle Express Edition (EE)

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B25329_01/doc/license.102/b25456/toc.htm#BABJIJCJ

Another point that I realized although didn’t or probably won’t be of great importance is that you have only an Oracle 32-bit Express Edition on Windows, and no 64-bit is available. I checked, and verified that there is no such installation. Of course I didn’t have to bother much because I dropped the idea of running an Oracle XE on Windows, rather a EE, 64 bit on Linux. Nevertheless, in case you are hunting for one for whatever reason I am thinking this should help you to stop the mad hunt. Here is the link where it certifies that no 64-bit.

https://forums.oracle.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=2277728&tstart=0

3. Installation of SQL Server

This was simplest because this was done a zillion times earlier, except that I had to be choosy in features list when I was installing the SQL Server instance on Windows Server 2008 R2 64 bit. The feature I had to make sure that was available was Replication as part of installation, and that too was done with ease. The pre-requisites were taken care when I chose the OS, Hardware for this piece of work, but make sure  you have latest service pack. I haven’t seen anything break when I tried with SQL Server 2012 w/o SP, though.

4. Configuration of Oracle publisher and SQL Server Transactional Replication – Subscriber

Under this heading I won’t write about how the configuration was done but the intent is to list down the pre-requisites.

  • What is needed before Oracle publisher is configured?
    • Oracle Database Client (Oracle Database 11g Release 2 Client) on Windows box where SQL Server 2012 instance is running and you could get this from here. Please remember the bit version you would like to download, and trust me this is the most important step to establish a connection from SQL Server on Windows with Oracle on Linux. You mess or miss this step for whatever reason you will realize that it was simple step, and bad mistake.
    • 64-bit Data Access Components to be installed on SQL Server box. You will get that installable from here, and you will want to choose the right one based on your environment. I had to pick this one 64-bit ODAC 11.2 Release 5 (11.2.0.3.20) for Windows x64.
  • What is needed for SQL Server Transaction Replication – Subscriber setup? Primarily everything done in the first step is good enough to establish a connection with Oracle, and then configuration a publication – subscription (pull) is quick.

I shall share finer details under each of the configuration steps and the intent in this post was to tell what you should have installed before you start putting the Oracle Publisher – SQL Server Transactional Replication – Subscriber in place.

At the end this link – Configuring an Oracle Publisher talk about same steps I have put in here, but falls short of pointing to right places of appropriate downloads.

I hope these help, and please feel free to comment.

Cheers!

Comments»

1. Oracle to SQL Server Replication-A bit of insight | My Love with SQL Server - May 13, 2013

[…] part was having the appropriate Oracle client and OLE DB drivers installed, and please refer to my post which has links to the downloads from Oracle Technology Network […]

2. No2 Maximus - July 27, 2013

Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not
sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.


Leave a Reply

