jump to navigation

What am I doing now-a-days over last few months..? January 30, 2014

Posted by msrviking in General, MySQL, Performance tuning.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I had been busy doing stuff on SSIS for few months, then on MySQL from the last post I have put up in the blog. What is that I am doing on MySQL and writing a post on a SQL Server blogging site? Well, I am kind a trying to get hold on how MySQL works, while I am trying to stabilize the performance of system. Surely I am not a MySQL geek to look at OS, Hardware, MySQL configurations deeply, but with little knowledge I had and gaining as time is going by I am trying to troubleshoot performance of the queries, indexing, and partitioning tables. These are the few things that I have been trying to put in place even before I get on other levels of performance engineering.

A thread is already on if I could shard the database, introduce read-write splitting to provide a scale-out solution by using out of the box features like MySQL cluster or customizing by partitioning tables, sharding them into different nodes, read-write splitting using MemCache.

These are lot of thinking in terms of MySQL but then I don’t have such flexibility in SQL Server although there are some implementations that use read-write splitting, using load balancers at application level and not database. I am highlighting some of those that are not there in SQL Server, and available to be used at fullest in MySQL. But then there are many of those missing in MySQL which is so good to use and work out things in SQL Server.

Some of the ones that I am missing MySQL badly are

  • Profiler
  • Graphical execution plan
  • Indexes with include
  • Free and easy to use monitoring tools for OS, Hardware
  • Multiple query plan algorithms
  • Proper documentation (implementation or bugs)

This post is to share what I am seeing those top few things in MySQL and few things that I am missing when I think of SQL Server. It’s kind of missing or home-sick post I would say.

I will keep writing as and when I learn new thing and definitely put a comparison with SQL Server features.

Happy reading.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

